The Saint George Peninsula
The Saint George Peninsula is situated on the Maine coast
south of Thomaston. The light and scenery of the St. George
peninsula has long appealed to artists. Originally known as
the Lower Plantation of St. Georges, is now the town of St.
George established in 1803, a quiet coastal village and fishing
town. The peninsula is better known by some of the villages
along its length, namely Port Clyde, Tenants Harbor, Spruce
Head, Wiley's Corner, Martinsville, Glenmere, Long Cove, Harts
Neck, and Clark Island. These are small fishing villages,
each having its own unique character. Some quaint shops, seaside
restaurants, and beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inns, as well as
old-fashioned general stores. Out of the way beaches, and
beautiful ocean vistas. Tenants Harbor, the largest of the
villages and the most centrally located, is the seat of the
town government. In addition to the peninsula, Whitehead Island,
Clark Island, High Island, Northern Island, Southern Island,
Mosquito Island, Hupper's Island, Allen Island Burnt Island,
and numerous other islands, contribute to the town's approximate
St. George Realty specializes in waterfront, water view, and historic properties from Port Clyde to Camden...
1. St. George Realty
2. Town Office and Fire Station
3. Town Landing
4. Monhegan Boat Lines
5. Marshall Point Lighthouse & Museum
|MARSHALL POINT LIGHTHOUSE
The Marshall Point Lighthouse stands on
the eastern side of entrance to Port Clyde harbor. Built in
1823 and rebuilt in 1858, this white tower is 30ft. above mean
high water. The St. George Historical Society operates a museum
in the keepers' quarters of the lighthouse, which displays hundreds
of artifacts and photographs that illuminate life along Maine's
coast, especially that of the St. George Peninsula.
A popular setting for so many residents & visitors, the lighthouse is featured in a wonderful book, "Our Point of View" by Tom and Lee Szelog who lived in the lighthouse keeper's home for 14 years. The lighthouse was also featured in the movie, "Forrest Gump" when Tom Hanks ended his cross-country run at a lighthouse. A photo of Hanks at the lighthouse hangs in the museum.
Tenants Harbor is a tranquil village mid-way
down the St. George Peninsula. It's well-protected harbor is
home to both fishing boats and pleasure craft. It is also the
seat of the St. George town government.
Tenants Harbor Lighthouse is on the northeast side of Southern
Island at the entrance to Tenants Harbor. This handsome 27-foot
brick tower is connected to the wooden keeper's house by a
In 1934 Tenants Harbor Light was one of a group of Maine
lighthouses discontinued by the government and sold at auction.
The lighthouse was bought by a Rockland resident and passed
through several hands until it was bought in 1978 by artist
Andrew Wyeth and his wife Betsy James Wyeth. The Wyeths spent
a number of summers on Southern Island and since 1990, Betsy
and Andrew's son, artist Jamie Wyeth and his wife Phyllis
Mills Wyeth, live on Southern Island and on Barters Point
in Tenants Harbor (not always on island - Jamie paints on
Tenants Harbor Light has appeared in a number of paintings
by Andrew and Jamie Wyeth, including Andrew Wyeth's "Signal
Flags" and "Iris at Sea," painted by Jamie Wyeth to raise
funds for the Island Institute of Rockland.
Southern Island can be seen from the public landing in the
picturesque village of Tenants Harbor, but the lighthouse
is best seen by boat.
Saint. George Realty
7 Port Clyde Road, Tenants Harbor, Maine 04860
Tel: (207) 372-8049 | 1-877-372-8049